Lee Zii Jia

Discussion in 'Malaysia Professional Players' started by undeadshot, Oct 7, 2018.

1. undeadshot

undeadshot Regular Member

Congratulations to Lee Zii Jia for turning his year around by winning the Chinese Taipei Open after a dip in form in the past few months and suffering a back injury. I think he deserves a thread for us to follow his progress. From what I see, he has really good netplay and retrieving ability but he tends to be very error-prone, especially smashing wide/lifting long. His consistency in the future will probably depend on how much he can further on his strengths and continue to minimize his errors.

From http://www.bam.org.my/player/lee-zii-jia

DOB: 29 March 1998

Left/Right Handed: Right

Ambition: To be a World Champion

Who Inspires You: Dato Lee Chong Wei

Which Year You Entered (BAM): 2016

Place of Birth: Kedah

Height: 186cm

International Debut (Senior): 2017

When and where I began playing and why?:
    I started playing badminton when I was 6 years old out of interest in my hometown, Alor Setar.

Categories: MS

_______

Podium finishes as of the time this thread was opened:

BWF World Junior Championships 2016: Bronze
    Polish International 2017: Champion
    Chinese Taipei Open 2018 (Super 300): Champion

#1 undeadshot, Oct 7, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2018
    ah_lim, visor and Cheung like this.
  2. CIA-99

CIA-99 Regular Member

He has a good gameplay, really. Interesting net play and good defence. However, he tends to suffer a lack of focus before/after interval, so I hope he and the coaches notice that. One thing I like is his fast-release cross-smash and drop, which is just cool. Consistency is the key and I hope he stays humble to improve his game, and not become Liew Darren 2.0.

ah_lim likes this.
  3. Sundis

Sundis Regular Member

Watching and playing badminton
    His fast-release power shots are his trademark shots.

ah_lim likes this.
  4. CIA-99

CIA-99 Regular Member