Wrong grip for 30 years. Too late to re learn?

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by Sams mom, Dec 11, 2016.

1. Sams mom

Sams mom New Member

Hi
    Apologies if this is in the wrong area ? I am new to the forum.
    Feel like a bit of an idiot posting this question to be honest , as I guess its asking something difficult to answer , ( and embarrassing) .

I have been playing badminton sice the age of 10 ( now 46) , and a lot more for the last year or so , ( 5 nights a week) . I love it !
    I am just not seeming to improve much . And the reason being , ( i guess) , is that I have held the racquet incorrectly since the day i started playing :-( . Without realising it of course.

No one ever pointed it out to me that I was holding the raquet wrongly and I have used the pan handled grip from day dot . I have kinda got by with it , but now I am trying to play at a much higher standard, with much better players than me and I have of course stopped improving and become disheartened.

My wrist doesn't form the V where it should , and the group coach calls it a pan handled grip

Everytime i try to change, I just revert back to my incorrect grip. I have even tried glueing lumps on my raquet handle to make me hold it correctly, just to get familiar with the feel of it , but as soon as i lose those bumper grips i have stuck on , to play properly , i revert back to the wrong grip.

Any hope for me ? :-(

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Yes. But you have to realise some things.

Learning new things need some special techniques when you are older. People can learn musical instruments and languages when older. Sport is no different.

Playing too many games at a higher level is definitely not going to help at this stage. It is a gradual process.

Panhandle is used for quite a lot of shots: forehand netshot pushes, deep backhand overhead, low backhand shots near the net.