View Full Version : Real Or Fake At800 Of? Please Help
kelvinlieu 01-27-2005, 11:47 AM Could someone tell me if my Armortec 800 OF is a genuine authentic racquet or a fake please. I just ordered it on ebay. I got it strung at bg65ti but on the strings it says bg65 is it suppose to say bg65ti on the strings?
Please take a look at my pictures of my racquet and let me know :confused:
(http://www.kelvinlieu.com/CIMG3426.JPG)
jcl49 01-27-2005, 11:59 AM Could someone tell me if my Armortec 800 OF is a genuine authentic racquet or a fake please. I just ordered it on ebay. I got it strung at bg65ti but on the strings it says bg65 is it suppose to say bg65ti on the strings?
Please take a look at my pictures of my racquet and let me know :confused:
(http://www.kelvinlieu.com/CIMG3426.JPG)
Really sorry, but I am afraid its a fake:
1. There are no G2 (grip size 2) yonex racquets. G2 racquets were sold in the Europe many many years ago.
2. There shouldn't be any serial code (like 1213CH) in the butt of the handel. On the same racquet, there can't be both "SP" and "CH" written. They represent different countries / market areas.
3. The sticker which states U's and G's is a tad big.
Hope you can get your money back
jl
PS who is the seller on ebay, so that we don't buy from him/her.
LazyBuddy 01-27-2005, 12:01 PM I believe it's a fake, too.
Besides jimmy's lists, I can tell from the cone serial #. I belive the 5th digit (year) is a "2" on ur racket. However, AT800 comes out in 2004, so, the 5th digit is no way to be 2 (2002).
cooler 01-27-2005, 12:07 PM it's a fake.
Had anyone tried and compared the sound of impact between a fake and real armortec?
kelvinlieu 01-27-2005, 12:08 PM I used the racquet and my shoulders were hurting like hell from the vibration. My smashed werent as powerful as usual. The ebay seller is called kwracquets. He seems to nice and friendly with all my emails answered, even told me the racquet was a 4u3g and that it was authentic, but when i got it it was 4u2g. When i used the racquet the strings seem to sound weird with a sharp ting noise like when u flick a tin can. and after using it, there are some noise like something is loose inside the racquet.
kelvinlieu 01-27-2005, 12:11 PM it's a fake.
Had anyone tried and compared the sound of impact between a fake and real armortec?
I know on my racquet it sounds abit weird already with a sharp tin noise when the bird hits the strings.
definitely a fake. from the handle cap picture alone we can tell. the YY is of poor quality. JAPAN is poor font and the background is blurry.
kelvinlieu 01-27-2005, 12:17 PM Thanks everyone for your help. I have looked around many sites and compared my racquet. Well I added some stuff I found my racquet where I found out is fake and hope it helps others not to fall into same trap as me.
kelvinlieu 01-27-2005, 12:21 PM seems like I cant edit my orignal post.
Does anyone know if the AT800 OF racquet series also comes in 4ug3 or is it just 4u4g?
chickenpoodle 01-27-2005, 09:18 PM how would you tell with the sound?
the strings and tension affect the sound of the shuttle striking the stringbed...
i'm using bg85 at 24lbs, and it sounds like a tin can when you pluck it.
almost all high tension string jobs will sound metallic when plucked.
the string is supposed to say "BG65 Titanium," so you got ripped on the strings too.
Sorry to say that it is a fake..
bluejeff 01-28-2005, 12:01 AM Fake, a low quality fake which is very easy to spot.
Just the first picture is enough to tell :)
Alexccs 01-28-2005, 12:59 AM FAKE.
All AT series have unique metalic TIN sound from the frame.
kelvinlieu 01-28-2005, 09:29 PM Yeah I definetly know it's a fake now, i compared a real one, and it even feels much better. Lighter. The painting, the fonts etc are totally different to a real one.
ben1680 02-02-2005, 10:42 AM Is anyone from this forum ever buy racket from this Ebay seller xiatiandepingjing?
I want to buy racket from him, but I'm not sure whether he sell the real one or not. I send email to him requesting more photo, but he didn't want to send any, but he insist that his racket is original. The price is cheaper thank original that I know of, but more expensive then fake. Anyone can help shed the light? Thanks a lot...
wood_22_chuck 02-02-2005, 12:39 PM Statistically: Fake.
If he/she doesn't have the means to take pictures (dig cam) then ask for a serial number.
-dave
LT - RulZ 02-02-2005, 12:51 PM How did you pay the seller?
I recently got my ass conned as well, but i made a few stern emails to the seller, got a dispute going up on Paypal resolution centre - seller accepted to refund all $$$, just waiting for Paypal to confirm my postage tracking details.
If you've also paid via Paypal, there is a very high chance of you getting your money back.
PM me if neccessary.
LT
ben1680 02-02-2005, 01:42 PM I also try to ask for serial number, he didn't want to give it to me as well. Lucky I haven't buy from him, since I already highly supicious by the way he answer my emai regarding that photo and serial number... seems that there is no cheap original racket on ebay :( Anyone that have the ability to source original cheap racket in this forum interested in starting a group buy?
I also try to ask for serial number, he didn't want to give it to me as well. Lucky I haven't buy from him, since I already highly supicious by the way he answer my emai regarding that photo and serial number... seems that there is no cheap original racket on ebay :( Anyone that have the ability to source original cheap racket in this forum interested in starting a group buy?
you have to be realistic when you say cheap. an AT800 that retails for US$150 in asia will cost the retailers at least US$100 (i am guessing) in wholesale cost. so you cannot expect to get it for US$50.
kelvinlieu 02-02-2005, 03:06 PM I also try to ask for serial number, he didn't want to give it to me as well. Lucky I haven't buy from him, since I already highly supicious by the way he answer my emai regarding that photo and serial number... seems that there is no cheap original racket on ebay :( Anyone that have the ability to source original cheap racket in this forum interested in starting a group buy?
I suggest you don't buy from him. The guy who I got it off had great communication and everything, insisted his was authentic. This was the emai he sent, even after i found it was fake and confronted him with all the evidence , he still emailed me the same message.
"I can assure you that my rackets are the genuine article, I have had them
authenticated by 2 internationalist one current and one from a few years
back, both sponsered by Yonex, Also I had the Yonex rep from my local
authorised dealer have a look at them and he is more than happy with them
being the real thing although they are of the SP persuasion, but if this
is still not good enough for you, Send my racket back unused and I will be
happy to refund you, your money"
Well im now in process of refund, i just sent it back tuesday so i'll let you guys now how it goes. I even emailed him if i get my postage money back, cus he promised if im not happy i'll get full refund. and he replied he would and that he is not a crook, LOL well thats for you guys to decide.
But if you do plan to get it make sure you get the serial number and check that it is authentic, and make sure you get pictures. If he dons't then im 99% it's a fake.
kelvinlieu 02-02-2005, 03:09 PM How did you pay the seller?
I recently got my ass conned as well, but i made a few stern emails to the seller, got a dispute going up on Paypal resolution centre - seller accepted to refund all $$$, just waiting for Paypal to confirm my postage tracking details.
If you've also paid via Paypal, there is a very high chance of you getting your money back.
PM me if neccessary.
LT
I paid thru pay apl, but the cash has been taken out of my bank. I sent it back tuesday he said he give me the full refund but im still waiting. Let me know how it goes with yours. Good luck.
kelvinlieu 02-02-2005, 03:09 PM How did you pay the seller?
I recently got my ass conned as well, but i made a few stern emails to the seller, got a dispute going up on Paypal resolution centre - seller accepted to refund all $$$, just waiting for Paypal to confirm my postage tracking details.
If you've also paid via Paypal, there is a very high chance of you getting your money back.
PM me if neccessary.
LTI paid thru pay pal, but the cash has been taken out of my bank. I sent it back tuesday he said he give me the full refund but im still waiting. Let me know how it goes with yours. Good luck!!!
|
|